Ron Robinson & Marty McGuckin capture 2016 AGA Junior Fourball Invitational.

Clarks Summit, PA - Friday, August 12th the Anthracite Golf Association conducted it's first Junior Fourball Invitational Tournament.  The event showcased some of the top players in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New Yorks Southern Tier at host Country Club of Scranton.

This years event was captured by players representing the Golf Association of Philadelphia, Ron Robinson and Marty McGuckin combined for a 31-37-68.  The 4-under par total was good earned the GAP duo a chance to particpate in a playoff for the title as the AGA team of Troy Kelleher & Luke Fayocavitz, and NCPGA's Tanner Adriance & Vincent Bender also carded rounds of 68 in regulation.

Following the completion of play, a playoff ensued with all three teams making birdie the par 5 #1 of the Fall's Nine, the teams continued and made par's on the par 3 #2.  On the third playoff hole, the 130 yard par 3 #8, Ron Robinson, a junior at North Penn High School,  rolled in a 12 foot putt off the fringe to make birdie and capture the title for himself and his partner Marty McGuckin who will be attending Temple University this fall as a member of the golf team.

Anthracite Golf Executive Director Patrick A. Lloyd said of the event, "the event was a great sucess, the players enjoyed the golf course, and also had the opportunity to meet some of the top players from the other golf associations who are closest to  the AGA. Mr. Lloyd also said of the host club "this is indeed one the finest layouts in the state and one of the top conditioned courses in the country so we were very excited that they offered to host today's event."

The 2016 host club Country Club of Scranton, Old Course, was designed by Golf Course Architect Walter Travis in 1927.  Ranked #92 in Golf Week’s “Top 100 Classical Courses in 2013."

Complete Team Results
68 (team champions 3rd playoff hole)
Ron Robinson, Talamore CC, GAP  
Marty McGuckin, Rivercrest GC, GAP

Troy Kelleher, CC of Scranton, AGA
Luke Fayocavitz, Glen Oak CC, AGA

Tanner Adriance, River Valley CC, NCPGA
Vincent Bender, White Deer GC, NCPGA

Lucas Artigliere, Mount Tabor CC, NJSGA
Justin Susarchick, Suburban GC, NJSGA

Robert McHugh, Preakness Valley CC, NJSGA
Richard Christensen, Preakness Valley CC, NJSGA

Dylan O'Dell, Elkview CC, AGA
Kyle Pillar, Woodloch Springs CC, AGA

Jack Habeeb, CC of Scranton, AGA
Jim Tressler, CC of Scranton, AGA

Shane Angle, Blue Ridge Trail GC, AGA
Ryan Keyes, Wyoming Valley CC, AGA

Logan Paczewski, Irem CC, AGA
Calen Sanderson, Roycebrook CC, NJSGA

Alex Pillar, Woodloch Springs CC, AGA
Ron Yanoski, Glen Oak CC, AGA

Max Johnson, Heron Glen GC, NJSGA
Joey Lostumbo, Copper Hill CC, NJSGA

Matthew Storeman, Belles Springs G.C., NCPGA
William Knauth, White Deer GC, NCPGA
© 2013 Anthracite Golf Association - All rights reserved.
617 Keystone Ave., Peckville, PA 18407
(570) 383-GOLF  |  Fax: (570) 383-4654  |  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Design by TEEM Technologies